Skip to content

Mashed Cauliflower

January 6, 2011

There was a really good sale on russet potatoes this week at my local grocery store.  $2.99 for 10 pounds.  I would have been foolish not to buy a bag.  That’s a lot of good eating!

Well, go ahead and call me a fool.  Because I came home with this instead.  I guess it was still a decent deal, though, being that cauliflower is a winter-harvested vegetable.

I guess it is pretty obvious what happened.  You say potato.  I say cauliflower.  The result?  A darn fine “starch” to accompany meat and lima beans.

And, of course, guilt-free room for dessert (or in my case, seconds).

One Year Ago: Carrot Ginger Cashew Soup

Cauliflower Mash
1 large head of cauliflower
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup milk, half and half, or cream
paprika

Wash and cut cauliflower in half.  Microwave each half about 5 minutes.  Chop into florets and microwave florets until very tender, about 5 minutes more, stirring halfway through the cooking time.  Pulse in a food processor, or grind with a food mill.  Add cheese to bowl and mix thoroughly (with spoon or by pulsing food processor more).  Stream in liquid until you reach your desired consistency.  Serve with a dusting of sweet paprika.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 7:10 pm

    I’m so with you. Even when there’s a good deal on cauliflower, it’s never as cheap as potatoes. The sacrifices we make for healthy eating!

  2. January 7, 2011 1:53 pm

    Your russet potatoes look off you may want to get them checked out 🙂
    Everyone keeps telling me I should try mashed cauliflower and maybe one day I will. I’m just so meh about cauliflower.

  3. January 7, 2011 6:04 pm

    Nothing about your food mill trial?!

    Hey, I’m actually eating cauliflower right now. It’s one of my favorites!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      January 7, 2011 6:19 pm

      The foodmill defeated me. But I’ll try it again!

  4. January 11, 2011 12:47 pm

    I LOVE mashed cauliflower, or any cauliflower for that matter. I much prefer it to potatoes any day.

    As a matter of fact, cauliflower soup is on the menu for tonight.

  5. Jill permalink
    January 14, 2011 8:42 am

    Hey Branny, I tried this! I had see a picture of mashed cauliflower a few weeks ago and thought…”Hummm, I should try this.” Then I got your post…so needless to say I followed the directions and wahlaa! Chad and I enjoy a wonderful meal including mashed cauliflower. It was good and I will make it again. Thanks!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      January 14, 2011 1:40 pm

      I’m so happy to hear that, Jill!

Leave a Reply

