Skip to content

Caesar Pasta with Romaine and Parmesan

January 8, 2011

Sometimes I find the food blogging world to be a wee bit incestuous.  A recipe is made.  A new person takes a pretty picture.  That blog gets crawled on StumbleUpon or FoodGawker, and BAM! every other entry of the blogs you follow turns out to be that same meal.

That’s okay, right?  We blog to share food we like.  It just becomes a little boring when everyone is sharing the same food at the same time.  I’ve been guilty of it, too.  But, lately, when I make a recipe that is frequently appearing on blogs (because it is obviously good!) I decide not to blog it.  If you follow BrannyBoilsOver, you might follow who I follow anyway, so unless I’ve branny-fied the recipe, I pass on the repetition.

I don’t mention this observation because it is a bad thing.  We all have a right to blog exactly what we want.  And sure, some people put new spins on recipes or take better pictures of them, and therefore readers might take note of a recipe in one blog and not another.  In fact, I hope that this recipe takes off exactly as I mentioned above, appearing on each and every blog I follow.  Because we need to spread the word about it.  It is so delicious.  It is QUICK!  Healthy!  And just perfect.  Bright and flavorful.  Comforting and simple.

So, please, be my guest, take this post and replicate it on your blog.  If you don’t blog, make it for your husband (and mine loved it too, by the way) and tell your best girlfriend about it.  And please forgive my last statement’s assumption that only women read my blog.  Men, speak up if you’re out there!!

One Year Ago: Enchanted Broccoli Forest

Caesar Pasta with Wilted Romaine and Parmesan Cheese (adapted from Rori Trovato)
*note: I scaled this recipe to two servings because I was unsure if it would reheat well.  If you make and find that it does reheat nicely, please let me know!

4 oz whole wheat spaghetti
2 anchovy fillets, minced to oblivion
1 T olive oil
1/2 lemon’s juice
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 t cracked black pepper
the very inner heart of a head of romaine lettuce – about 8-10 of the smallest leaves
1/3 cup parmesan cheese + more for garnish
croutons

Bring a salted pot of water to a rolling boil and add pasta.  Cook until al dente.  Drain and set aside, reserving 1/3 cup pasta water.

Heat a skillet to medium-high and add olive oil.  When hot, saute minced anchovy for 2 minutes.  Add garlic, lemon juice, and pepper and cook 1 minute.  Turn heat to medium and add lettuce leaves, cooking about 1-2 minutes while tossing occasionally, until wilted but crisp rather than soggy.  Add pasta and cheese to the pan and toss to coat and distribute.  If it seems dry, add some of the reserved pasta water.  Serve garnished with more cheese and croutons.

This post has been submitted to Presto Pasta Nights hosted by Chez Cayenne.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. mama permalink
    January 9, 2011 9:12 am

    love the narrative and pictures!

  2. January 9, 2011 10:20 am

    Sharing food and recipes is what I’m all about. Thanks for sharing this one with Presto Pasta Nights.

  3. January 9, 2011 12:23 pm

    This looks lovely. I love that your pasta is inspired by a salad. That’s my kind of salad! Thanks for sending this over to Presto Pasta Nights.

  4. January 9, 2011 4:41 pm

    Yum!! My two favorite foods in one bowl. Now if you had just tossed some cookies in there too…

    I kid, I kid.

    But that seriously looks awesome.

  5. January 9, 2011 7:08 pm

    yum! looks good!

  6. January 10, 2011 12:32 am

    Interesting! I’ve always been a little leery of recipes that call for cooking or even just wilting romaine, but I think you’ve convinced me to give it a try!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      January 10, 2011 8:15 am

      This is the first time I’ve prepared a dish with cooked Romaine. I’ve come across it in some Thai restaurants and always remark about how good it is with noodles, but have never given it a chance. Just don’t overcook it. It should still be crunchy to bite – just warm and more pliable than uncooked lettuce.

  7. January 11, 2011 10:31 pm

    I like to do my own thing too 🙂 Love this pasta – the warm lettuce sounds so yummy!

  8. January 14, 2011 4:19 pm

    This is great.

  9. January 14, 2011 8:06 pm

    Now I got another idea on how to use anchovies, thanks.

  10. January 14, 2011 8:51 pm

    Well I made lettuce soup, and it was really good, and wilted spinach salad is great, so this should be also. Especially if you like Caesar’s Salad and pasta. And, who doesn’t?

  11. January 19, 2011 2:23 pm

    It looks really good! Quite an interesting and hearty meal and very healthy. I might give it a try sometime…without the anchovies though. 🙂

  12. January 20, 2011 6:51 pm

    OMG – what a great idea – just about my favourite dish in the whole world is a good caesar salad, but I never ever thought of turning it into a pasta dish. I definitely have to try this, and already my head is whirling with ways in which I might put my own spin on this 🙂
    Sue

Leave a Reply

