Skip to content

Roasted Bell Peppers

January 13, 2011

Hi, my name is Branny, and I’m a serial under-browner.

You want bubbly, golden and brown in some spots, cheese on your chicken parmiginia?  Yeah.  Look elsewhere.  Sure, I’ll put it under the broiler, and then I’ll freak out and pull it out *just* when the cheese looks like plastic.

Appealing.  I know.

The Omnivore?  He’s a serial over-browner.  He likes burnt toast, burnt popcorn, blackened pancakes.  Once he browned his cupcakes.  He regretted that one.

The only time I can effectively brown food is when I’m making roasted bell peppers.  Because if they don’t get black, those skins aren’t coming off!


I think a lot of people think that roasted peppers are something that must be purchased in the pickle aisle of your grocery store.  Well change that mentality right now.

These suckers are easy to bang out.  And build confidence when it comes to effectively using your broiler.

One Year Ago: Chickpea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Roasted Red Peppers
Bell peppers

Preheat broiler to HI.

Wash bell peppers.  Remove core by slicing each side off the inner core.  Lay sides on top of a cutting board and using your palm or a spatula, apply pressure to the cut pepper so that it splits in some parts and flattens.  Place flattened peppers on a baking sheet.  Broil bell peppers for about 8 minutes, peeking occasionally, until skin is blistered.

Place cooked peppers in a tupperware (with a lid) for 15 minutes to cool and steam.  Skins are easily removed.  Use as desired.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mama permalink
    January 13, 2011 8:38 pm

    yeah! you are a quick study!

  2. January 14, 2011 11:19 am

    I’m an under browner too! Is there a support group for people like us?

  3. January 14, 2011 1:35 pm

    My girls think it’s fascinating when I char them over the open flame on our gas cooktop. The broiler would probably be safer, but not near as fun!

  4. January 15, 2011 12:19 pm

    I tend to err of underbrowning too. As easy as it seems, I’ve never made my own roasted bell peppers. Yours look great!

  5. innasinventions permalink
    January 15, 2011 1:04 pm

    Wow, that sounds exactly like my husband and me…whenever we’re baking together, I’m always trying to take whatever it is we’re ‘browning’ out of the oven and he’s always trying ot stop me. It makes for some pretty entertaining nights!

Leave a Reply

