Skip to content

Ethiopian Stew

January 23, 2011

You know how when you move you get really excited about learning about your new neighborhood?  And you just can’t wait to find new favorite places and become the new “regulars” to some retail establishment?

And you know how then you begin to miss where you moved from, that comfort, that ease?  And you start to regret not visiting X, Y, and Z more often?  And you realize how you didn’t take advantage of this or that?

I’m at that stage now.  And it has more to do with missing the restaurants (and grocery stores) of the old home than really anything else.  I mean, Lowe’s is Lowe’s, right?

If you ask the Omnivore if he likes Ethiopian cuisine, he’ll say “YES!”

If you ask the Omnivore if he wants to go eat Ethiopian cuisine, he’ll say “NO!”

You see, he only wants to eat it once per year.  Which means when we lived near an excellent Ethiopian restaurant, we only ate there about 4 times.  And now I’m craving it and it is far away and I’m regretting that I didn’t put my foot down and demand to eat there once per month.  Well, I was regretting it.  Until I made this recipe.  And all was right again.

One Year Ago: Whole Wheat bread in 5 minutes

Ethiopian Stew (adapted from here)
* this is not spicy as written.  If you prefer hotter foods, add 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
2 cups split peas, well-rinsed and drained
4 cups water
1 onion, halved and sliced
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 tbsp minced ginger
1 cup diced tomato (fresh or canned)
2 cups cut green beans (fresh, frozen, or canned)
1 tbsp paprika
1 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cloves
1/8 tsp allspice
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp salt

Pressure cooker method:

Place all ingredients in a pressure cooker and mix well. Test the broth to see if it is spiced to your liking, and adjust accordingly. Close lid and bring up to pressure over high heat. When pressure is reached, cook for 15 mins on low. Remove from heat and let pressure drop. Open lid, mix well, and serve.

Crock pot method: Place all ingredients in the crockpot.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

Looking for an injera recipe?  Check this post.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 4:43 pm

    Yum! I rarely eat Ethiopian food but this spice combo sounds darn good.

  2. January 23, 2011 5:05 pm

    I’ve pretty much been whining nonstop for the last year about missing my favorite grocery store and all the restaurants from Philadelphia. I never did try Ethiopan food, but I also love vegetable-legume stews over carbs, so I bet I’d like it!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      January 24, 2011 6:58 am

      I really encourage you to try it. If you ever make it to an Ethiopian restaurant, remember, you can only eat with your right hand.

  3. January 23, 2011 5:12 pm

    I tried Ethiopian food for the first time in December and fell in love. This recipe looks so good!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      January 24, 2011 6:58 am

      You should try making it at home. Esp if you have trouble finding companions to go to the restaurants like I do!

  4. January 23, 2011 5:17 pm

    I remember when we first moved to San Diego we looked for an ethiopian restaurant and couldn’t find one. I’ve heard one had opened, and you’re making me desperate to go and check if its any good.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      January 24, 2011 6:58 am

      Go for it!

  5. January 23, 2011 6:27 pm

    While it’s on my list of things to try, I’ve haven’t yet been to an Ethiopian restaurant. From the ingredient list of this recipe though, I am pretty certain I would love it. I will definitely have to give this a try.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      January 24, 2011 6:59 am

      Ethiopian food is hard to come by. I hope you try making it at home!

  6. January 24, 2011 1:27 pm

    That looks great! I’ll have to try it. We have an Ethiopian place about an hour away from here, but Chris and I both agreed that our homemade Ethiopian food was better than theirs. It may have something to do with the fact that the owners of the Ethiopian restaurant are actually Italian…

  7. January 25, 2011 12:37 pm

    I live with some fearful food eaters, but this looks so good that I’m excited to try it out and eat it all myself. Such a nice international recipe, thanks for sharing~!

  8. January 27, 2011 9:48 pm

    this looks great! i’ve actually made this one ethiopian dish a few times with lentils and sweet potatoes. i plan to post it soon and i’ll let you know when i do. i think you’ll enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

