Skip to content

Fennel and Chickpea Salad

February 2, 2011

Remember how the Omnivore and I don’t live together?  And how he visits me on the weekend?  And how I don’t have a car?

So that means when Saturday comes I get really excited to see The Omnivore‘s car! I get to go grocery shopping which is exciting.  And because there’s no such thing as a stop at the market unless it is on a Saturday, I make a list, and stick to the list.

At least that’s the plan.  But this past weekend I cruised by a fennel bulb on my way to the oranges.

Yes.  A fennel bulb.  Not a stack o’ fennel.  Just one.  It looked pretty good, so I grabbed it.  It *might* have been my first time cooking with fennel.  So I was excited!

When I got to the check out (by the way, have I told you that the grocery store was called Piggly Wiggly?  Is that country or what?), the cashier said, “Woah!  That’s one hairy scallion!”

This salad was so.good.  So GOOD!  The unique flavor of fennel becomes softer when it is roasted as in this recipe.  And this is such a great time for citrus – those flavors just popped.  Chickpeas were a natural addition and provided something substantial.

For the record, I don’t think scallions would have been very good in this recipe anyway.

One Year Ago: Spinach and Squash Stuffed Rotolo

Roasted Fennel and Chickpea Salad (adapted from here)
1 1/2 cups chickpeas, rinsed and drained
2 medium fennel bulbs
1 cup water
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt
2 oranges, peeled
1 T olive oil

Pre-heat oven to 375 F.   Remove leafy tops of fennel bulbs. Slice the fennel bulbs lengthwise into 1/4-inch strips and place in a baking pan.  Add extra-virgin olive oil, water, salt and dried spices. Give all ingredients a good stir with a wooden spoon.

Spread fennel and chickpeas evenly on baking pan and bake until fennel is tender and has soaked up most of the broth and olive oil – about 30 to 35 minutes.  Stir occasionally.

While fennel and chickpeas are baking, peel oranges into sections. When fennel and chickpeas are finished in the oven, combine all ingredients in a large bowl, toss well, and season with sea salt and pepper, if needed.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 9:52 am

    What a tasty combination of ingredients, and the chickpeas do sounds like a perfect addition!

  2. February 2, 2011 12:26 pm

    Aw I should have put that I miss Piggly-Wiggly in that poll yesterday! Congrats on your first fennel endeavor I’m willing to bet it won’t be your last.

  3. February 2, 2011 12:27 pm

    That sounds tasty. I have been looking for fennel around here for a few weeks. There is a sign for it in the produce section, but there is never anything under the sign. I’ll get it eventually.

  4. February 2, 2011 3:23 pm

    It looks SO GOOD! Yum!

  5. February 5, 2011 12:23 pm

    That’s one thing I love about vacation down south – Piggly Wiggly. I used to call it Piggel Wiggies. Yay for first time using fennel.

  6. February 5, 2011 5:08 pm

    I LOVE fennel…one of my favorites. This dish looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

