Skip to content

Puffy Tuna and Rice

February 14, 2011

I really, really did not expect to enjoy this meal.

I didn’t even set up my camera or think of photographing it for the blog until long after the dish was made.

This recipe just screamed “I dare you to make me.”  The cookbook is copyrighted 1970 and is entitled A Dollar a Day . The entire thing, including the recipe I made, screams 70s.  SCREAMS.

The recipe called for canned tuna.  I keep that around because the Omnivore likes to make himself tuna sandwiches.  I don’t like tuna sandwiches.  Or canned tuna at all.

The cookbook has no pictures and I was just darned curious about what made this “Puffy Tuna and Rice” so puffy anyway.  As I read on, I realized it was the separation of egg yolks from the whites and treating each component of the egg differently to achieve distinct results.

So I decided to make it.  It consists of ingredients standard to my pantry anyway: rice, frozen peas (my addition), canned tuna.  I didn’t really have to go out of my way to make it.  And if I hated it?  So what.  I’d still eat it.  I do things like that.  I’m a trooper.

But I didn’t hate it.  I liked it a lot!  Sure, it screamed casserole but is that so bad?  The rice disappeared amongst the puffiness from the egg whites.  I bet your family would never even notice the brown grains in there.  And yolks made for a thick and rich sauce and although the recipe called for cheese, I omitted it and didn’t miss it one bit.  I don’t think I like tuna with cheese anyway.

In the interest of full disclosure, though, I must admit that the Omnivore only thought this meal was “okay.”  Yes, he ate is full portion and enjoyed it, but he admitted it was not something he’d request again.  Maybe if I’d added the cheese it’d be a different story.

One Year Ago: Sauerbraten Klopse
Two Years Ago: Valen-Thai-ne’s Day Dinner (a favorite)

Puffy Tuna and Rice (adapted from A Dollar a Day)
1 can tuna (that normal size, not the huge one), drained
1 cup frozen peas
1.5 cups cooked brown rice
3 eggs, separated
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup milk
1 cup water
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup whole wheat flour

Whisk together oil, flour, water, milk, and salt.  Heat over medium heat in a small sauce pan.  Add egg yolks and whisk continuously, about 3-4 minutes, until the mixture is thickened.

Beat egg whites with an electric mixer until stiff and frothy.

In your casserole dish, combine cooked rice with peas.  Mix in drained tuna and incorporate sauce throughout.  Carefully fold in egg whites until just combined.

Cook in an oven preheated to 350* for 35 minutes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 7:01 pm

    What an interesting recipe!
    I think I need to get a copy of that cook book – would love to read through those recipes from the 70s. So fun!

  2. February 15, 2011 9:16 am

    That looks really good… Funny I made Tuna Casserole yesterday, not something I ever make and even though we all love Tuna salad I think there is something weird about warm cooked Tuna, unless it is raw/seared.

  3. February 15, 2011 12:28 pm

    I thought this dish looked scrumptious. Until I saw it contained tuna, which is my mortal enemy.

  4. February 15, 2011 12:48 pm

    We’re complete opposites. I love tunafish, meanwhile DH hates it, especially in tuna casseroles. I’ve been craving tuna for a little while now, and you’re not helping! 🙂

  5. mama permalink
    February 16, 2011 8:22 am

    this looks like one of those dishes where you could add what you have in the fridge, like we do with quiche.

Leave a Reply

