Skip to content

Snobby Joes

March 18, 2009

I don’t know if I’ve ever had an authentic Sloppy Joe.  I went to summer camp and I’ve dealt with my fair share of lunch ladies but I seriously don’t think I’ve come across an authentic Joe.  

I just found out a few weeks ago that Manwich was not actually meat-in-a-can.  I literally always thought it was Spam’s ugly cousin.

  But apparently it is just the sauce for a Sloppy Joe.  This concept baffles me.  It seems like way more trouble to buy a special can of mystery sauce than it is to add some spices to your generic tomato sauce that you always have on hand anyway.

But I may be baffled simply because I’ve never tasted the glory that is Manwich.

It wasn’t until I began cooking for the omnivore that it even occurred to me to cook a Sloppy Joe.  And it only occurred to me then because I was trying to think of foods that his mother may have cooked him during his childhood.  I use this same recipe for his batch o’ Joes and sub 1/2 lb ground meat for the lentils.  He loves it.

imgp1661

Snobby Joes (serves at least 3 adapted from Veganomicon

1/2 cup lentils boiled in 3 cups water, with a bay leaf
8 oz tomato sauce
1 T maple syrup
2 t spicy mustard
1 t oregano
1.5 T chili powder
1/2 onion, diced
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 t salt

Saute onion and garlic and add to drained boiled lentils. Add spices and tomato sauce and simmer 10 minutes. Then cover and let stand for 10 minutes. Simmer a little more to reduce to the liquid if too soupy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 6:03 pm

    LOL, I always thought the manwich was meat in a can too! I guess I’ve never looked closely before. I’ve never had sloppy joes either!

  2. thecookingnurse permalink
    March 18, 2009 6:51 pm

    Those look good, I just have to tell you you’re posts are hilarious!

  3. March 18, 2009 8:04 pm

    I have never hade manwich and had no idea the meat was not included. I really must try this. I love lentils!

Trackbacks

  1. My first dinner party « Branny Boils Over
  2. Pita is not such a P.I.T.A. « Branny Boils Over

Leave a comment