Skip to content

Butter Curry

February 22, 2009

I adapted this recipe from a post on allrecipes.com.  We have a few favorite Indian restaurants round these parts and I’ve never seen “butter curry” listed on the menus.  So, really, I have absolutely no point of comparison to guide you with in your decision about whether or not you will enjoy this recipe.

imgp0844 

I do know this much, though: there is absolutely no butter in this recipe.  I know.  Weird.  I wonder if more authentic recipes use butter.

I did do a preliminary Google search to address this query (to save YOU the trouble, of course) and found a variety of recipes from a slew of questionable sources.  Some recipes called for simply enough butter to soften vegetables while others called for up to 6 oz. of butter.  At the site of the latter amount on the ingredient list, I quickly ended my search, happy to see that this recipe seems to be on the healthier end of the Butter Curry spectrum.     

Oh yeah, chick peas would be a GREAT addition to this dish.

Butter Curry

1 medium yellow onion, diced
1 small green bell pepper, diced
1 cup diced cauliflower
1 carrot, sliced
1 teaspoon minced garlic
2 teaspoons curry powder
2 teaspoons garam masala
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed tomato soup
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup frozen peas

Directions

  1. Saute onion, pepper, and carrot over medium heat in spray canola oil.
  2. Stir in garlic, add cauliflower, and cook until all veggies are soft.  Stir in curry powder, garam masala, ginger, cumin, and salt. Cook for 1 or 2 minutes, stirring. Pour in soup, cream, and frozen peas.  Simmer at least 15 minutes.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2009 8:50 pm

    I LOVE “butter chicken” from Indian restaurants. I will have to try this!

  2. February 23, 2009 7:56 am

    This looks great!!

  3. February 23, 2009 8:38 am

    Looks delicious and I love meatless meals!

Trackbacks

  1. A Slumdog Feast « Branny Boils Over

Leave a comment