Skip to content

I don’t know my Omnivore as well as I thought

May 7, 2009

My Omnivore and I have been together for a while now.  I’ve been filling his stomach with carnivorous delights for a couple of years, at least.  I feel like I’ve got a pretty good handle on what he likes and does not like, and I generally can tell from reading a recipe whether or not it’ll be a winner with the ‘vore.

For years, I was sure my husband’s most favorite dessert, aside from chocolate cake, was brownies.  It just seemed natural for the chocolate lover that he is.  Rich, chocolatey flavor.  Dense, chewy goodness.  Fudgy.

I would sneak brownies home from the cafeteria at school, nab them in the breakroom at work, and smuggle them home from parties and get togethers…

I would innocently place them on the counter, and act all bashful like “What Brownie?” when he discovered them.

He’d smile.  Eat it.  And not say a word.  I thought his silence meant he LOVED the brownie.

Until one day.  One day. In the sweetest possible voice, the Omnivore said to me, “You know.  I really don’t like brownies.  Really, I’d much rather have a decent cookie.”

That sounds like a challenge to me.  Does that sound like a challenge to you?  So, I was off to make a cookie.  But…

This was a frequent occurrence:

The dreaded spread of cookie mess.

As was this:

Can we say ‘overcooked’?

And here I go again, this time with a recipe adapted from BakingBlonde’s Website.

Maybe-this-recipe-will be-a-winner-but-it-probably-won’t-Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup + 2 TBS flour
1/4 c unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg
2  teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Sift dry ingredients together.  In bowl of stand mixer, add butter and sugars.  Cream together.  Add egg.  Mix thoroughly.  Incorporate dry ingredient mixture.  Add oats and fold in chips.  Chill batter for 30 minutes.  Bake for 10 minutes in a 350* oven on cookie sheets sprayed with nonstick spray, rotating pans halfway through.  Cool for 10 minutes on cookie sheets and then on wire rack.

imgp3002

The Omnivore gives these an A for effort.  But he only ate one of them.  1!  When the man sits down with Oreos, he eats a third of the box.  So, clearly, this recipe was NOT winner.

BUT! I thought they were delicious!  Deep flavor, very soft, and definitely chocolatey.  I would make them for any chocolate lover.  Except my Omnivore.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. bakingblonde permalink
    May 7, 2009 6:33 am

    hahah, Love the comentary of your post!
    You can’t win them all. At least they did not burn or spread!!

  2. Debbie permalink
    May 7, 2009 7:04 am

    How frustrating! Try these http://thymefornourishment.wordpress.com/2009/03/16/bbfcccc-and-gabriels-baking-debut/ Just watch the bottoms and know that they will stil be pretty soft when you take them out. Good luck in your cookie quest.

  3. May 7, 2009 12:48 pm

    Just an fyi, I too have the spreading problem a lot and recently learned it is due to over creaming and or mixing. So when you cream your butter and sugar together don’t let it go to long, JUST UNTIL it is combined. I know this is hard, I still struggle but it makes a world of a difference. Good Luck on your cookie hunt!

  4. May 8, 2009 5:33 pm

    It so annoying to me when I make something and my SO doesn’t eat it either. I made HOMEMADE ICE CREAM. Delicious & creamy, and did he eat any? Nope. Just the bite I force-fed him. I took it to work where it was devoured & enjoyed.

Trackbacks

  1. and the moral of the story is… « Branny Boils Over
  2. No more chocolate chip cookies on my grocery list « Branny Boils Over

Leave a comment